News & Media

LSAM Recognizes Leaders in the Life Science Sector

WINNIPEG, Manitoba – October 23, 2008 – The Life Science Association of Manitoba (LSAM) awarded its annual Life Science Awards this week. Recognizing the leaders and innovators of the life science community, the awards highlight the great work being done in this growing and dynamic industry.

The award categories are:

Life Science Company of the Year

This category celebrates a private sector company based in Manitoba that has made a positive impact on the sector in the past year and is active in paving the road toward future wealth and job creation in the region.

The award this year went to IMRIS, a global leader in the supply of fully integrated, intraoperative imaging systems, and the solution of choice for leading neuroscience centers. Their flagship product, IMRISneuro, is a unique surgical MR imaging solution which provides near real-time, high-field MR images in combination with an integrated data management and display system. The only technology of its kind in the world, its uniqueness is found in its mobility. IMRISneuro actually brings the MRI to the patient during surgery, using their patented overhead rail transport system.

Outstanding Leadership in Health Research

This award is for the individual who demonstrates exemplary vision and leadership in life science research in Manitoba in such areas as public awareness, scientific discovery or commercial application.

The recipient of this year’s award is Dr. Allan R. Ronald M.D., OC. Dr. Ronald is one of this country’s foremost physicians and microbiologists, who helped establish in Canada a clinical specialty in infectious diseases. He has had a distinguished 35-year career as a Winnipeg professor and medical researcher and following his retirement in 2002, helped develop a comprehensive HIV/AIDS Care and Prevention Program in Uganda. This successful launch of a drug distribution program has received worldwide media coverage.

Individual Contribution to the Industry

This category recognizes an individual (either from the private sector or the public sector) who exemplifies passion, innovation and conviction in the area that they work. The individual is a true champion of the sector and takes an active role in promoting science and technology as well as mentoring and inspiring the community. The nominated party must reside in Manitoba and have a demonstrated commitment to championing the sector locally, nationally or internationally.

The recipient of this year’s award was Jeffrey Hartry, the Director of Quality Systems and Information at Cangene. Prior to joining Cangene, Mr. Hartry held a series of positions with, Winnipeg based Apotex Fermentation. Jeff is also a former LSAM president and currently serves as the Chair of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

All three award winners exemplify the innovation and expertise that highlights the strength of the life science industry in Manitoba.