News & Media

Dedicated Physicians Honoured with 2023 Doctors Manitoba Awards

Doctors Manitoba unveiled its 2023 award recipients today, a group of nine dedicated physicians with outstanding achievements, groundbreaking research, and a focus on improving care for their patients.

​“We are celebrating nine inspiring physicians for their diverse accomplishments in patient care, research, education and leadership,” said Dr. Candace Bradshaw, President of Doctors Manitoba.​“Our 2023 Doctors Manitoba award recipients have made a lasting mark on medicine here at home and on the national and international stages, and a lasting impact on the patients they serve.”

The Doctors Manitoba awards are the highest honour bestowed upon physicians in the province. Award recipients are nominated by their physician peers and selected after a thorough evaluation by the Awards Committee.

​“While Manitoba grapples with a record physician shortage, these physicians are showing that doctors can thrive in our province if they have the right support and funding,” added Dr. Bradshaw. 

This year’s honourees include the following group of courageous and committed physicians:

Physician of the Year: Dr. Ryan Zarychanski 

Humanitarian: Dr. Tamara McColl

Distinguished Service: Dr. Maggie Morris

Resident of the Year: Dr. Alwyn Gomez

Medal of Excellence: Dr. Biniam Kidane; Dr. Courtney Leary; Dr. Katherine Kearns and Dr. Christina Raimondi, and Dr. Michael Loudon




Subscribe to the BAM Newsletter

Sign up for one of BAM's newsletter to learn more about bioscience, happenings in Manitoba's bioeconomy, industry conferences, and BAM training events.